Aiyedatiwa appoints Akeredolu’s men, others as commissioners, advisers

The Ondo State Governor, Lucky Aiyedatiwa, has sent 10 names to the state House of Assembly for screening and confirmation as commissioners and special advisers.

Aiyedatiwa became the governor of the state on December 27, 2023, following the death of Governor Rotimi Akeredolu.

He later dissolved the State Executive Council on January 24, 2024.

According to a statement issued by his Chief Press Secretary, Ebenezer Adeniyan, the governor has sent the names of the nominees to the Assembly on Friday.

The list comprises some former members of the sacked cabinet.

The statement read, “Ondo State Governor, Lucky Orimisan Aiyedatiwa, has forwarded to the State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation the names of six commissioner-nominees.

“The nominees are,  Mrs Omowumi Isaac, Mr Olukayode A. Ajulo, Razaq Obe, Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan, Akinwumi Sowore, and Mr. Oseni Oyeniyi

“The governor has also appointed the following individuals as special advisers, Olugbenga Omole, Special Adviser on Information and Strategy, Mrs Olamide Falana, Special Adviser on Gender Affairs and Mr. Alabi Johnson, Special Adviser on Energy.”

Some of the nominees are members of the sacked cabinet who were appointed by the late Governor Rotimi Akeredolu.

They include Razak Obe, who was a commissioner for Energy and Natural Resources; Akinwumi Sowore was appointed by Akeredolu as the commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, while Mr Emmanuel Igbasan was a commissioner for Budget and Economic Planning under Akeredolu’s administration.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *