Govt reopens 23 Oyo schools after 10-year shutdown

The Oyo State Government, on Thursday, ordered the reopening of 23 schools in the Atiba, Afijio, Oyo East and Oyo West local government areas of the state, 10 years after they were shut down over land disputes.

The state Deputy Governor, Bayo Lawal, who waded into the boundary crisis that culminated into the 10-year closure of the schools, said council chairmen would be held responsible should there be a breach of security.

The deputy governor spoke  at a stakeholders’ meeting held at the Western Hall, Secretariat, Ibadan, to fashion out ways of resolving the age-long land dispute.

Lawal, who doubles as the Chairman, Oyo State Boundary Committee, charged the chairmen of Atiba, Afijio, Oyo East and Oyo West to ensure security and peace in their domains.

He added that the Ministry of Education would oversee the schools after reopening, and do whatever was required to put the children back to school.

The deputy governor advised members of the state House of Assembly, representing the affected constituencies to work with community leaders to ensure that children returned to school.

“I appeal to you our elders and chairmen of the affected local governments to consider the future of these children. The primary reason this meeting is held is for the schools that were closed for 10 years to reopen immediately. That is the message from the governor himself.

“We have engaged all the stakeholders, community leaders, honourable members, the chairmen of the various local governments, and we have agreed that schools must reopen in the interest of those children,” the deputy governor said.

Lawal appreciated the Oyo Global Forum, a non-partisan group of professionals from the four councils that constitute the Federal constituency, noting that their interest in the progress of the affected schools was commendable.

He promised that the Office of the Surveyor General would wade into the boundary dispute among the communities, urging the community leaders to adhere to the government’s verdict on the schools.

The affected schools include Community Basic School Obananko, Oyo; Community Basic School Laagbe, Oyo; Pinnock Memorial Baptist School, Aba Epo Oluwatedo, Oyo; Baptist Basic School, Oluwatedo, Oyo; St. Luke Anglican School, Bada Idiyalode, Oyo; L.A. Basic School Ago Oyo; Community Basic School, Igbo Olose, Oyo in Oyo West LG.

Others are Community Basic School Adebimpe, Oyo; Community Basic School, Obasere, Oyo; St. Thomas Anglican School, Alabi Olorunda, Oyo; St. Michael RCM, Apaara Village, Oyo; Methodist Primary School Ajagba, Oyo; Baptist Central School Oniyanrin, Oyo; Bapt Primary School, Aguo, Oyo; ADS Primary School, Baba Elesin, Oyo in the Oyo East LG.

Also affected are L.A. School, Lannite, Oyo; L.A. Primary School Gudugbu Orile, Oyo; L.A. Primary School Gudugbu, Oyo; ADS Primary School Aba Olori, Oyo; ADS Primary Abujakan, Oyo; L.A. Basic School, Alagbon, Oyo; and L.A. Basic School, Imeleke, Oyo also in the Oyo East LG.

The meeting was attended by the Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Salihu Adelabu; the Executive Chairman, State Universal Basic Education Board, Nureni Adeniran; chairmen of the four local governments; traditional leaders, among other stakeholders.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *