Sokoto: Tambuwal appoints 28-member transition committee

18th April 2023


Agency Report

Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal, has appointed a 28-member transition committee to facilitate and manage the handing over of power to the incoming governor.

This is contained in a statement issued to newsmen in Sokoto on Monday and signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Alhaji Mainasara Ahmad.

The committee is to be chaired and co-chaired by the state Deputy Governor Alhaji Munir Dan’iya and the SSG respectively.

The committee is also to collate and document from the Ministries, Departments and Agencies achievements recorded by the present administration from 2015 to 2023.

It will also obtain and analyse reports from MDAs on all ongoing projects/programmes in relation to the level of execution/ fiscal profile, constraints among others,” it said.

The state government said the committee will prepare a comprehensive handing-over note to the incoming administration to be ready by May 15.

The state added that members are to organise a befitting swearing-in ceremony in collaboration with the incoming administration’s team and make any other effort in ensuring the next administration receives every support needed to make an early and quick start.

Members of the committee are Abubakar Muhammad, the state Head of Civil Service and Ali Inname, the state Commissioner of Finance.

Others are Bello Abubakar, Commissioner for Basic and Secondary Education, Lema Abubakar, Commissioner for Health, Prof. Aminu Abubakar, Commissioner for Agriculture and Prof. Abdulkadir Junaidu, Commissioner for Animal Health

Others are, Isah Bajini, Commissioner for Rural Development, Prof. Aisha Madawaki, Commissioner for Higher Education, Aminu Bala, Commissioner for Land and Housing and Dahiru Yusuf, Commissioner for Water Resources.

The list also has Abubakar Maikudi, Commissioner for Internal Security, Abdullahi Maigwandu, Commissioner for Local Government, Bashir Gidado, Commissioner for Youth and Sport and Kulu Sifawa, Commissioner for Women Affairs.

More on the list are, Kabiru Aliyu, Special Adviser (SA) SDGs, Chika Umar, SA Primary Health Care Development Agency, Dr. Amamatu Yusuf, SA SOCHEMA and Ibrahim Magaji, SA Political matters.

Others are Abubakar Mohammed, Permanent Secretary (Min. of Agric), Muazu Madawaki, Permanent Secretary (Min of Internal Security), Arzika Bodinga, Permanent Secretary (Min of Budget), Mahmoud Kilgori (A&GSD) and Naziru Bala (Cabinet Affairs).

The committee has Dahiru Abbas, Permanent Secretary (Min. of Finance), Bande Rikina, Permanent Secretary (Cabinet Affairs), and Abdulkadir Ahmad (Director Security), as its Secretary, Co-Secretary and Assistant Secretary respectively.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *