UK adds Nigeria to red list, says decision necessary to prevent incursion of Omicron variant

The United Kingdom on Sunday announced that Nigeria has been added to the Red List for international travel, noting that the decision was prompted by its determination to prevent the incursion of the Omicron variant of COVID-19 into the nation.

The UK made the announcement in a tweet by its Secretary of State for Health and Social Care, Sajid Javid.

So far, Nigeria has recorded only three cases of the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

However, with this addition, Nigeria has become the eleventh and only West African country to be added to the UK Red List. Other African countries on the list are from Southern Africa.

The tweet by the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care reads, “In light of the most recent data we are taking further action to slow the incursion of the Omicron variant.

“From 4 am Monday, only UK/Irish citizens and residents travelling from Nigeria will be allowed entry and must isolate in a managed quarantine facility.

“And from 4 am Tuesday, anyone travelling to the UK from countries not on the Red List will be required to take a pre-departure test, regardless of their vaccination status.

“Vaccines remain our first line of defence – the best way to protect yourself and your loved ones…”

Meanwhile, the Presidential Steering Committee in collaboration with the Federal Ministry of Health and National Primary Health Care Development Agency today approved the administration of booster doses for persons who have completed two doses of the AstraZeneca, Moderna and Pfizer BioNTech and one dose of the Johnson and Johnson.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *